Reviews

HOOKED ON MUSIC   Screen Shot 2013-03-22 at 4.41.37 PM


by: Michael Masuch
NOVEMBER 2012
Even with her last album “Still Wild” , (released just a few years earlier) in the archives, Lacy continues to eke out her existence. Lacy Younger is among the few people who have ears and draws attention to herself with her striking ‘cool’ that lies somewhere between SUSAN TEDESCHI, DANA FUCHS and PAT BENATAR,..which is an impressive place to be.

With the tried and true method of performing on small stages she made a name for herself in Germany as an insider; that is one of her strengths. Now that she has returned with her band and a very powerful new record, made ‘live in the studio’ ..this totally unadulterated album should get them a much wider fan base.

Leading with the powerful ballad Praying For Rain, the band prepares a solid song structure, where they can embed her time flattering, sometimes pithy, demanding vocal. Then comes Heart of Mine, a veritable format radio ‘Schleicher’, (smash!), pushing from behind. The frills are all lined up… The songs Younger wrote, whether on her own or in collaboration with her band, are immaculate. The only cover is the native of Humble Pie, 30 Days In The Hole,… it’s musically exciting and new; Younger knows how to make it her own.

Lacy converts crunchy rock and roll with a shovel of Blues on Wont not Gimme a chance and Want You Back; on the associated stage ramp she understands this and conveys it well. Lastly there’s the semi-acoustic End Up In Mexico, with it’s high-contrast detail and South American finesse, to score. Lacy and her band ended up with a record worth listening to…it’s an entertaining, “handmade” album that should really be considered.


MUSIC-REVIEWER.COM   images (2)


by: Mary Duke
August 2007
Lacy Younger’s tracks embrace a fresh twist between country and the sound of pop music. Therefore, if you are looking for some modern country, Younger’s sound is perfect for you. She does not drown you in the country sound. In fact she claims she doesn’t like to choose just one genre to label her music. What is more, her songs are sweet and simple. They practically beg you to sing-a-long. In no time you find yourself tapping your feet, getting her songs stuck in your head, and forgetting what genre you intended to listen to.

Younger crosses many barriers and does it well. Of Scandinavian decent and born in San Diego, Lacy grew up in a house of music. She played the piano and as a little girl remembers constantly performing for her family. She would sing confidently from her perch on the family coffee table every night before going to bed. Her success has clearly taken off far beyond the family living room with the creation of Lacy’s new CD Still Wild.

Since Lacy loves to both sing and write it comes as no huge surprise that eleven of the thirteen tracks on the album were written by Lacy herself, a rare quality seen in today’s music industry. Yes, one may say Lacy Younger is a true musical talent. The only thing one is left wondering is what is to follow this first, impressive CD Still Wild… web: Music-Reviewer.


Reviewer Magazine   images (3)


by: Robert Shamlin
August 2007
“…Lacy Younger from San Diego, CA., delivers Country-Rock from a voice that will remind you of the fine vocal range/talent of Patsy Cline. The Beautiful singer/songwriter still gigs locally…”


Good New Music   images (2)


STILL WILD | LACY YOUNGER | BIG DEAL / BIG POND
by: Peter Hund
April 2007
Singer/songwriter Younger’s “original” 1998 debut on another label went out of print so fast it might as well never have been released, but eight of its songs have been rescued by “Still Wild” producer/engineer/remixer Val Garay, who overdubbed new instruments and vocals on some and completely recut others.
Firmly in a country-/southern-rock vein, Younger’s guitar-driven sound is Stones-ish and Faces-like but more polished, and to a lesser degree pays homage to groups like Atlanta Rhythm Section and Lynyrd Skynyrd.

Based in Los Angeles (where the best country-rockers either come from or end up) by way of Nashville (where she honed her writing skills) and San Diego (where she started singing in bands at 15), Younger has a sexy-husky vocal style that draws inspiration from Bonnie Raitt and Bonnie Bramlett – but even more so from Rod Stewart and Chris Robinson. She even sounds a tad like Bon Scott during the chorus of the album’s ass-whupper, “Broken Heart, Broken Bones.”

Conversely, she can chill on ballads such as “Here’s to You” (from the album’s clutch of new songs, supplied by Nashville triumvirate John Scott Sherrill, Dennis Robbins and Dave Loggins) or “Livin’ on Memories,” an original composition boasting fiddle work so subtle it sounds like another guitar at first.
Also not on the first album is the title track by Bonnie Hayes, whose “Have a Heart” and “Love Letter” helped take Raitt’s “Nick of Time” to the top of the charts in 1989; and “Something You Do,” which Hayes wrote with Younger. web: Good New Music


MusicTap.net   images (1)


by: Matt Rowe
March 30, 2007
Hot girls and Rock n Roll. It’s the heady mix that fuels and consumes the male side of the music. But when you get a volatile mix as gorgeous and desirable as Lacy Younger…well, all I can say is, ladies, lock up your husbands; she’s apparently still wild.

Lacy Younger is equal parts country and rock n roll, oozing all of the sex appeal that just seems to come natural for her. On her new album, Still Wild, she runs through 13 tracks that will bring to mind several influences. She begins with “This Ain’t the First Time,” a strong opener that has the heartbreak of lost love but rocks in it like she’s got time for others; you don’t matter all that much. I really like her whiskey vocals in this one. At moments, she sounds classically bluesy and that makes for one hell of a song.

Her voice has plenty of range and can easily tackle many songs well. Her album is full of enjoyable songs that will age well, none of them bad. Lacy Younger holds nothing back. In her booklet insert, she provides the lyrics to her songs, having written 11 out of the 13 available. She also gives you more than enough photos of her in various poses. But more than all of that, she is a great singer and songwriter. Lacy Younger is a legitimate singer and belongs in the game.

I’m recommending a visit to her MySpace page for you to get a listen for yourself. But don’t say that I didn’t warn you because you’re going to like her.
I love Lacy Younger but for now…
I need a cold shower. web: MusicTap.net


Americana UK   images


LACY YOUNGER | STILL WILD
by: Keith Hargreaves
April 12, 2007
Lacy Younger is marketing herself as a country rocking minx. A hard living , whiskey soaked soul wrapped in the faded jeans and floaty tops and this album ticks all the appropriate boxes. The hard rocking ‘But I Miss You’ with its driving guitar and staccato piano stabs and the end of the night ballad of regret ‘I Was Wrong’ with its slow dance of tears and heartache. The whole CD follows this structure; perfectly observed mainstream AM radio country rock (spelt rawk) – a ballad (Livin’ On Memories)(Didn’t I), a rocker (Broken Heart, Broken Bones)(Dead Wrong) etc.

The production is slick, as you would expect from a grammy winning producer of Linda Ronstadt and Kim Carnes and nothing is out of place but that leaves little room for real emotion or spontaneity. I am sure that Lacy believes this stuff she has written about but maybe the edge has been slightly smoothed off these tales of heartbreak and unforgiveness. However if you ignore the awful 12 bar blues chug (Let Me In) there is a spunkiness that cannot be ignored and the vocals grow with repeated listens, as do the arrangements.

The cd is called ‘Still Wild’ and I should think she bloody well is after being told to run about in skimpy tops that emphasise the cleavage for the liner notes shots and promotional material. The woman who wrote most of the tracks on this cd obviously has the talent and the skill not have to play these marketing games. It is however her second shot at this debut (the first stalling in 1999) and she perhaps feels she must follow every path to try and make this a success and if they are aiming at a passing mainstream hit they might just do it with ‘Something That You Do'; for more long term credibility maybe change the image and let the songs do the talking. web: Americana UK


TwangWire.com   Twangwire


Lacy Younger | Still Wild
by: SidewaysNic
April 6, 2007
How is it that we define genre and sound? When we listen to music our minds sub-consciously file that song among other songs that we are familiar with and without us knowing makes that judgment of, “this is a country record” or “this is a rock record.” Lacy Younger’s sound will definitely play tricks on your mind. It resides in that indefinable area where country and rock n’ roll meet. Her deeply personal bleeding heart lyrics scream country, but her voice, and the soul that resonates from that voice is all rock n’ roll. Her sound really reflects her experiences and influences, having spent time playing music in both Nashville and Los Angeles. Still Wild was brought to fruition with Grammy Award-winning producer/engineer Val Garay (Linda Ronstadt, James Taylor, and Kim Carnes). Having written 11 out of the 13 tracks herself, the album is a walk through Lacy’s soul…..a country chanteuse with a rock n’ roll heart. web: TwangWire


Country Stars Online   countrystarsonline


Lacy Younger | Still Wild
By: Brianna Nightingale, CSO Contributing Journalist
March 28, 2007
By the time Lacy Younger began writing songs on the piano at age five, she already had two years of musical experience behind her. “I started taking requests at age three. My Grandma, Goldie would come grab me out of bed, stand me on the coffee table in my footie pajamas and insist I belt out ‘Somewhere Over The Rainbow’ for a house full of martini clad party guests,” she said. According to Younger, music was always in her house because of her mother’s beautiful voice and frequent use of the piano. On the way home from the beach one day when she was 15, Younger met some guys who wanted her to sing for their band. The rest was history; she began playing in local clubs about a year later.

Her debut album, Still Wild, includes thirteen tracks which deal with broken hearts and life lessons. Since she knows everyone experiences a rocky road when it comes to love, her wish is to inspire others. “If sharing my music encourages others in any way, I’m a happy girl,” she said on her website.
All but two songs were written by Younger herself. The title track was written by Bonnie Hayes and “Here’s To You” was created by Dennis Robbins, Dave Loggins and John Scott Sherrill.

While I had the title track “Still Wild,” playing on my stereo, my fifteen year old brother walked into my room. He looked at me for a minute and said “this song is crazed.” Thinking about what he said, I listened closely and realized that Younger’s vocals go from soft and calm to “crazed” within just a few seconds.

That minute one realizes their relationship has gone downhill is a moment that nobody wants to experience, but we all do because that’s life. “This Ain’t the First Time,” is about a girl who knows she’s about to be left alone, but because; “this ain’t the first time for someone to leave; won’t be the last time my little heart bleeds…it’s alright.”

“Here’s To You” is written with the idea in mind that she will meet the man of her dreams some day. She doesn’t ever want to tell anyone she loves them unless it’s the right person. Referring to her future love interest, she says “I know mine’s out there somewhere, I just don’t know where he is.”
Yet another song about relationship endings comes with great lyrics and I like the idea behind it. “But I Miss You,” one of my favorites, will definitely grab your attention with its strong vocals and percussion. Younger’s passion will persuade you that she means every word. After being in a relationship for so long it is hard to get out of it when it goes wrong. She recognizes the comfort of a familiar relationship when she misses him but not the things he did.

To go along with “But I Miss You,” “Livin’ On Memories” gives the message that half of her wants to forget about him, but the other part desires to see him again. Everything about the melody of the song is convincing; starting with the tempo. It really gives that sad, daydreaming impression.
“Didn’t I” leaves Younger wondering what she did wrong, trying to figure out why the relationship didn’t work out. The ending explodes with emotion just before “This Time” comes to a screeching halt for a short time. As with most of her songs, Younger’s voice becomes loud for a moment to make her feelings known just before she calms down again.

Overall I believe Younger has the right idea about music. She knows none of our lives are the same, yet we still have similar experiences in our every day lives, especially with love. “We’ve all been there,” she says, “I just write about it.”
Younger’s tracks can be previewed on her myspace page or her main website. Available April 7, 2007. web: Country Stars Online